The Southern Cross The Southern Cross

Read the latest edition. Latest edition

Youth shine at radio awards night


Record listener numbers and the talent of young Catholic school students were cause for celebration at the annual Arch D Radio Awards Night held at Sacred Heart College last month.

Comments Print article

Aired weekly on 1079 Life, the Arch D Radio program features current and former students from seven schools – Rostrevor, Sacred Heart, Marymount, St Columba, Cabra, Cardijn and St Francis De Sales. They were among the 160 guests at the awards night which also was attended by local radio identities Bec Seabrooke and Craig Bruce.

Arch D Radio producer James Meston shared his pride in the show’s growth, currently listened to by 37,000 people weekly and set apart from other youth radio shows by its focus on social justice and faith formation.

“These young people have created an amazing show that sounds professional and authentic, and there is nothing else in Australia like it,” Meston said.

“Some of these students only did their first show with Arch D in the last 12 months… some have been on the show for four years. Words really can’t sum up how proud I am of them, and the show too.

“This standard of radio work by our young people is by far the best yet, and we’ve also got the highest listenership in the history of the show right now.”

The night’s highest honour of 2018 Broadcaster of the Year went to Cabra Dominican College old scholar Denisia Stavropolos.

Ms Stavropolos, 19, told of the impact of Arch D Radio on her own life and career aspects, and its importance in the community.

“I owe Arch D a whole lot,” she said.

“It has not only helped with my self confidence but made me realise that radio is something I want as a career.

“I am so proud to not only see how far Arch D has come, but to also be a part of the journey. I think it’s really important for the youth across the diocese to have a more modern outlet for them to talk about their views and values to youth not only in Australia but across the world.”

Arch D Radio is broadcast on FM station 1079 Life on Wednesday nights at 9pm and Saturday nights at 10pm.

Full list of award winners:

Broadcaster of the Year – Denisia Stavropolos (old scholar, Cabra College)

For the most outstanding contribution of the year to Arch D Radio, in development, enthusiasm & performance.

 In The Spirit Award – Cailin Alexander (St Francis De Sales)

For the student/young person who most successfully translated their experience of Catholic faith/values in a positive, affirming & relatable way on-air.

Anchor of the Year Award – Mary-Anne Maio (Henley Antioch)

For the student/young person who most successfully learned and applied the skills of directing the on-air content and conversation of the announcing team.

 Talk Break of the Year Award – Luke Wormald & Rachael Park (Sacred Heart College)

For the team of students/young people who delivered the most outstanding 3-5 minute segment of content in 2017.

 Most Listened Podcast Award – Podcast #47 – Alexia, Noah & Elijah (Cabra College)

For the team of students/young people whose show podcast was the most downloaded/streamed in 2017.

 Rising Star Award – Caitlin Chapple (Sacred Heart Marymount)

For the student up to Year 8 who has shown the most potential for great radio performance in 2017.

On-Air Team of the Year – Tayer Stead, Emma Baguley & Katie Panton (Cabra College)

For the 2 or 3 students/young people who had the on air ‘chemistry’ that created the most professional and entertaining radio.

Music Programmers of the Year – Anthea & Athieng (St Columba College)

Awarded to the team who created the highest quality music playlist, based on the format & requirements of Arch D Radio.

Announcers of the Year

Awarded in male & female, junior (up to Year 10) and senior (Year 11 and above) categories, for the on-air announcers in 2016 that showed the most potential, improvement and great performance.

Female Announcer (Senior) – Hannah Green (Cabra College)

Female Announcer (Junior) – Kaitlyn Davey (Cardijn College)

Male Announcer (Senior) – Tom Basso (Rostrevor College)

Male Announcer (Junior) – Bailey O’Connor (St Francis De Sales College)



Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Local stories

Loading next article