The Southern Cross The Southern Cross

Read the latest edition. Latest edition

Tea Tree Gully triumphant


After more than 20 years of trying, Tea Tree Gully finally broke through to win the John Mahoney Parish Trophy at the Clergy-Laity Golf Day on March 27.

Comments Print article

A three-way tie with last year’s winner, Clearview/Kilburn, and Lefevre – all on 98 points from their three best scores – was resolved by using the score from the best fourth player.

the CDF team of, from left, Gary Felton, Brenton Prime and Gary Parkin with Mgr Rice.

A new award, the Reverend Robert J Rice Team Trophy for the best three scores from a team of four was easily won by the CDF Team (Gary Felton, Brenton Prime and Gary Parkin) with 105 points from the Vinnies team with 99.

Competition for the Dean Travers Cup (best Stableford score) was tight but newcomer Chris Dawe with 39 points prevailed over Shane Hodby and Gary Parkin (both 38), who respectively won the Men’s A and B grades.

Dark morning skies and rain yielded to an ideal sunny afternoon for the 12.30pm shotgun start. The West Beach Patawalonga course proved challenging for the
70 players, which included five clergy and nine women. Ten parishes had the minimum of three players to compete for the Parish Trophy.

Fr Richard Morris (30) claimed the Archbishop Leonard Faulkner Trophy for Clergy. Other laity club handicap winners were Dave Beart (37) in the Men’s C grade and Margaret Toohey (34) for Women. Social players were subject to the Callaway handicap system and Adam van Dommele (35) defeated David Wark (34).

Archbishop O’Regan presents Fr Richard Morris with the trophy for Clergy.

Archbishop Patrick O’Regan led the dinner gathering with Grace and presented the Clergy Trophy. When called to award the Team Trophy, convenor Monsignor Robert Rice was at first speechless when he realised it had been named in his honour. This was a fitting tribute as he has been convenor of the golf day since 2000.

The organising committee was pleased with player support with more than 20 new players to counteract the absence of some from last year.

Results: Dean Travers Cup (best Stableford score –- club hcp): Chris Dawe (15) 39 pts.

John Mahoney Parish Trophy (best 3 players): Tea Tree Gully cb 98 pts, Clearview/Kilburn cb 98, Lefevre 98.

Rev Robert J Rice Team Trophy (best 3 players): CDF Team 105 pts, Vinnies 99, Four + One 98.

Archbishop Leonard Faulkner Trophy for Clergy: Fr Richard Morris 30 pts, Fr Leon Czechowicz (28) 27, Fr Allan Winter (20) 26.

Women: Margaret Toohey (25)          34 pts, Karen Oliver (27) cb 31, Maria Bosch (29) 31.

Men A (club handicap): Shane Hodby (4) 38 pts, Brenton Prime (11) 33, Bryce Allanson (10) 32.

Men B (club handicap): Gary Parkin (13) 38 pts, Graeme Baker (13) 33, Peter Smith (16) 31.

Men C (club handicap): Dave Beart (17) 37 pts, Mark Fielder (22) 35, Ray Gardner (26) 34.

Men Social (by Callaway system): Adam van Dommele 35 pts, David Wark 34, Adam Nolan 33.

Best Husband & Wife Team: Karen & Trevor Oliver 64 pts.

Nearest the pin: 2nd hole Shane Hodby, 5th John McCarthy, 12th Brenton Prime, 16th Gary Felton.

Longest Drive (13th hole): A grade Shane Hodby, B grade Denis Toohey, C grade & social Dave Beart, Clergy Fr Allan Winter, Women Margaret Toohey.


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Local stories

Loading next article