The Southern Cross The Southern Cross

Read the latest edition. Latest edition


People People

The role of a shepherd

In the Catholic Church there are three ‘levels’ of ordination within the sacrament of Holy Orders: deacon, priest and bishop. The Second Vatican Council spoke of the bishop as having ‘the fullness of the sacrament of Orders’ and dedicated an entire decree to the Pastoral Office of Bishops in the Church.

Get The Southern Cross delivered straight to your inbox twice per month.

Thanks for signing up to the Southern Cross newsletter.


Why we need a Plenary Council

As preparations continue for the Plenary Council 2020 – the most significant gathering of its kind in more than 80 years – Adelaide Archbishop Philip Wilson responds to some common questions about the Council and what it means for the Catholic Church in Australia.


Lively community affirmed at Plympton parish

Meeting OWLS (Older Wiser Livelier Souls), attending an international dinner, witnessing hospital ministry and celebrating the Eucharist with school students and parishioners were some of the highlights of the Archbishop’s visit to Plympton parish last month.