The Southern Cross

Get The Southern Cross in your inbox. Subscribe
Jenny O'Brien


Jenny O'Brien

Articles by Jenny

Features Features

The role of a shepherd

In the Catholic Church there are three ‘levels’ of ordination within the sacrament of Holy Orders: deacon, priest and bishop. The Second Vatican Council spoke of the bishop as having ‘the fullness of the sacrament of Orders’ and dedicated an entire decree to the Pastoral Office of Bishops in the Church.

Opinion Opinion

Easter: A time of great hope

Hot cross buns and chocolate eggs are enjoyed by many over the Easter period, but not everyone understands their true significance. Behind those simple ‘treats’ stand the most profound events of human history.

Get The Southern Cross delivered straight to your inbox twice per month.

Thanks for signing up to the Southern Cross newsletter.


All Saints and All Souls

At the beginning of next month the Church celebrates two important feasts: All Saints on November 1, followed by All Souls on November 2. While in the minds of many Catholics these two feasts are inextricably linked, they originated at different times and have different emphases.


Celebrating Christian funerals

The Christian journey begins with baptism and comes to its earthly conclusion with the Funeral Mass and subsequent burial or cremation. From that moment on we enter the realm of eternal life with God.


Christian nuptials today

When a young couple approaches the Church to be married, their intention is to formally ratify the deep love they have for each other in the presence of their family and friends, with the blessing of the Church.